Since the Parish’s founding in 1922 and to this day, the local clergy has administered St. Margaret Mary: first by the clergy of the Archdiocese of San Francisco until 1962, and then by the clergy of the Diocese of Oakland which was established in January 13, 1962.  The Diocese’s territory comprises Alameda and Contra Costa Counties in the San Francisco Bay Area. The Cathedral of Christ the Light serves as the bishop’s seat, replacing the Cathedral of Saint Francis de Sales which was demolished after the Loma Prieta earthquake of 1989.

There are 169 Diocesan priests and 82 parishes currently, with 46 elementary schools and 9 Catholic high schools serving 5,710 students.  

The Diocese remains a suffragan of the ecclesiastical province of San Francisco. Its fellow suffragans include the dioceses of Honolulu, Las Vegas, Reno, Sacramento, Salt Lake City, San Jose, Santa Rosa and Stockton.

The patron saints of the Diocese of Oakland are the Blessed Virgin Mary, Queen of the World; and Saint Francis de Sales, whose feast days are August 22 and January 24 respectively. 


The list of bishops of the diocese and their terms of service:

·       The Most Rev. Floyd Lawrence Begin (1962–1977), deceased.

·       The Most Rev. John Stephen Cummins (1977–2003), retired.

·       The Most Rev. Allen Henry Vigneron (2003–2009), Archbishop of Detroit.

·       The Most Rev. Salvatore Cordileone (2009–2012), Archbishop of San Francisco.

·       The Most Rev. Michael C. Barber, SJ (2013–present)

Bishops from Diocese of Oakland

·       The Most Rev. Clarence Richard Silva, Bishop of Honolulu (2005–present) and former Vicar General of Oakland (2003–2005)